Compass Records has released four digital albums of music recorded during the 2012 season of Music City Roots, a Nashville-based radio and television program airing each Wednesday evening from The Loveless Barn. Each of the four is titled based on loose stylistic groupings of the music featured on the show: GrassRoots, SongRoots, TwangRoots and SoulRoots.


Of primary interest is the GrassRoots edition, with tracks from Doyle Lawson & Quicksilver, Sam Bush, Della Mae, The Steeldrivers, Frank Solivan & Dirty Kitchen, Junior Sisk & Rambler’s Choice, Tillers Folly, Kathy Mattea, Town Mountain and The Westbound Rangers.


All of the music was captured live, in front of the Loveless Barn audience.These albums are only offered as digital downloads, and purchasers of the full album downloads will also receive a digital booklet with song notes from Craig Havighurst and concert photos from Anthony Scarlati.


The SongRoots edition celebrates songwriters like Darrell Scott, withTwangRoots highlighting rockabilly and country swing. Tim O’Brien has a cut on theTwangRoots album. SoulRootsfeatures music with R&B influences and blue-eyed soul.


GrassRoots is available now for sale from iTunes, Amazon and other popular digital download sites.